Bye bye, PewDiePie? Frustrated YouTube star says he will delete channel.

0
332

Image: VINCENT SANDOVAL/WIREIMAGE

Time to binge watch your favorite PewDiePie videos.

The Swedish gamer who recently topped Forbes’ highest paying YouTube star list said he will delete his channel Friday after officially hitting 50 million subscribers.

Image: twitter/screenshot

The news comes less than one week after PewDiePie, whose real name is Felix Kjellberg, joined a handful of creators in voicing his frustrations with YouTube over video views declining and subscribers suddenly disappearing.

The general theory is that YouTube has a new algorithm that has caused glitches. Although some in the internet community have come up with a conspiracy theory that YouTube boosts ads on the trending tab and videos with more likes and comments.

“It is really upsetting how [YouTube] did this change. They won’t explain what happened properly to anyone,” PewDiePie said in his video uploaded last Friday. “It’s not just me, a lot of YouTubers are noting this.”The Swedish gamer said the inexplicable changes feel like a “kick in the face.”

Maker Studios, the digital entertainment network PewDiePie is a part of, issued a press release Wednesday stating that PewDiePie Markiplier, JackSepticEye, KickthePJ, Cryaotic and more will live stream Friday and Saturday to raise money for RED, an AIDS charity. It’s supposed to kick off on Friday on PewDiePie’s channel.

Some speculate PewDiePie may be building buzz around deleting his channel to draw people to the channel for the charity stream.

PewDiePie, after all, has been known to prank viewers before.

But in his tweet, PewDiePie said he plans on deleting the channel at 5 p.m. GMT (12 p.m. ET and 9 a.m. PT).

Maker Studios did not respond to Mashable’s request for comment. YouTube also did not immediately respond for request for comment.

Read more:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here